The legal age of consent in Nevada is 16. (NRS 200.368)

Minors in Nevada can’t legally consent to any type of sexual activity unless they are 16 years old. If the minor is a student and the sexual partner is a teacher or figure of authority, the age of consent is bumped up to 18. The same laws on age of consent apply for both same-sex couples as well as heterosexual couples.

A conviction for having sexual relations with someone younger than the age of consent in Las Vegas carries huge penalties such as prison, fines, and sex offender registry status. An experienced Las Vegas criminal defense lawyer may be able to obtain you results so you will not have to register as a sex offender.

This page explains “age of consent” laws in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Age of consent chart for Nevada

Male – FemaleMale – MaleFemale – FemaleTeacher – Student
16161618

What are the statutory rape laws in Las Vegas?

The State will press charges for the Las Vegas crime of statutory rape ( “statutory sexual seduction”) when they suspect an someone over 18 has had sex with someone under the age of consent (16). A person may be found guilty of statutory rape even if they didn’t know that the person was under 16. Remember ignorance is not a defense in Court.

The punishment for the crime of statutory sexual seduction in Las Vegas under NRS 200.368 depends on the age of the accused. If the accused is 21 or over, statutory sexual seduction is prosecuted as a category C felony in Nevada carrying a sentence of:

If the accused is younger than 21 but over 18 then courts punish statutory sexual seduction as a gross misdemeanor in Nevada. The punishment for a gross misdemeanor in Nevada carries:

  • up to 364 days in jail, and/or
  • up to $2,000 in fines

Whether or not you were charged with a felony or a gross misdemeanor, the judge may order you to register as a sex offender in Las Vegas. That being said, it’s very important, if you are being accused of the crime of statutory sexual seduction to hire an aggressive criminal defense attorney in an effort to fight those charges with no sex offender consequences.

Can a teacher legally have sex with a student in Las Vegas?

No, if you are a teacher or a figure of authority under NRS 201.540 you can’t have any sexual relations with a student unless:

  • teacher and student are legally married, OR
  • student is at least eighteen and the sex is consensual.

The penalty for sexual conduct between students and teachers under NRS 201.540 and NRS 201.550 will depend on the age of the student. It’s a category C felony in Las Vegas for a teacher or figure of authority to have sexual relations with a student age 16 or 17. The punishment includes:

  • up to five years in Nevada State Prison, and
  • up to $10,000 in fines

But if the student is 14 or 15, then the sexual relations are prosecuted as a category B felony in Las Vegas, carrying:

  • up to six years in Nevada State Prison, and
  • up to $5,000 in fines

Both of these options carry with it the penalty of having to register as a sex offender.

LEWDNESS WITH A CHILD UNDER 14 YEARS OLD

If the allegation involves a child under the age of 14 years old, then the offense is charged under NRS 201.230. This offense is often called “child molestation” in other jurisdictions.

A person who willfully and lewdly commits any lewd or lascivious act, other than a sexual assault with penetration, on a child under the age of 14 years old, with the intent of arousing, appealing to, or gratifying the lust or passions or sexual desires of that person or of that child is guilty of the crime of lewdness with a child under 14 years old. The crime is classified as a category A felony punishable by life in prison with the possibility of parole, after 10 years and a fine of not more than $10,000.

If the person has previously been convicted of any sexual crime against a child then the crime is punishable by life without the possibility of parole.

What if the Parents of the minor consent to the relationship?

No, parents can’t consent to break the law. The law is the law.


You Are Not Alone!

We are taking calls 24 hours a day, and would love to talk to you about your case, free of charge.

Call (702) 966-5310

Call (702) 966-5310
Send SMS Text