There are several different scenarios in Nevada that may lead to the suspension or even the revocation of your driver’s license. Anyone who has had their license suspended or revoked should take this penalty seriously and find alternate methods of transportation that will be reliably available to them for the duration of their suspension. Intentionally driving while your license is under suspension or has been revoked is a crime and will lead to further and potentially more severe penalties. If you have been charged with driving with a suspended or revoked license, you should seek the experienced counsel of an attorney at your earliest opportunity.
The information compiled below will cover some of the basic information regarding license restriction in Nevada, including some of the circumstances that can lead to a suspended or revoked license, as well as the penalties that can be applied if you are found to be guilty of driving when your license has already been suspended or revoked.
Common Causes of Driver License Suspension or Revocation in Nevada
The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in Nevada has a lengthy list of circumstances for which someone can have their license suspended or revoked.
Some examples of this include the following:
● Arrest and/or Conviction for Driving Under the Influence – If you test positive for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, your license will be suspended at the time of your arrest. This is likely to be extended upon conviction, or may also result in your license being revoked depending on the circumstances of your conviction.
● 12 or More Demerit Points Against Your License Within a Year – Nevada’s DMV keeps track of demerit points related to your driver’s license. These are accrued for a variety of traffic violations, and if you have received 12 or more points within a 12 month period, your license will be suspended or revoked.
● Failure to Maintain Adequate Insurance – If you have been found to have repeated lapses in your automobile insurance coverage or have failed to provide or maintain proof of insurance when required, this may result in a suspension or revocation.
● Causing a Collision with a Pedestrian or Bicyclist
● Conviction for Certain Firearm Offenses
● Failure to Appear in Court and/or Failure to Pay Fines for a Traffic Ticket
● Failure to Pay Child Support
● Participating In or Organizing Street Racing on a Public Highway
Restricted Driver’s Licenses
There are some circumstances in which drivers who have had their license suspended or revoked may be allowed to apply for a restricted license. This is typically for occupational purposes, and are meant to allow the restricted driver to drive themselves to work, school, or community service obligations. This type of restricted license will typically come with specific parameters including which days of the week, times of day and areas in which the driver is allowed to drive in this restricted capacity. Driving outside of the restrictions placed on you for this type of license can result in a suspension or revocation. The application for a restricted license in Nevada can be found at the DMV website here.
Penalties for Driving with a Suspended or Revoked License
A conviction for driving during a period of suspension or revocation of your Nevada driver’s license will result in a misdemeanor (NRS 483.560).
The penalties for this are as follows:
● Up to 6 months in county jail
● A possible fine of up to $1,000
● A possible extension of your existing license suspension or revocation
Additional Penalty for a License Suspended or Revoked for DUI Conviction
If your license was suspended or revoked following a DUI conviction in the state of Nevada, you will also face the following additional, mandatory penalty:
● 30 days in county jail, or
● 60 days of house arrest
Possible Defense to Driving With a Suspended License
There are situations in which a driver may not be aware that their license has officially been suspended or revoked. If this is the case, it may result in a dismissal of the charges against you for this particular act, as you were not properly notified of the suspension and were unaware that your actions were illegal.
Information About the Process of Reinstating Your Driver’s License
There are necessary steps that will need to be completed before your license can be officially reinstated. This is not an automatic process that will begin once the time limit on your restriction is up and you will need to follow the requirements set by the DMV in Nevada before your new license will be legally reinstated. Driving before these conditions have been met will still be against the law and if stopped by law enforcement, you may face further penalties.
It’s important to keep the notification that was sent to you by the DMV at the time of your suspension. This will contain both the start and end date of your suspension or revocation. You will not be notified again when your suspension is up – this is up to you to pursue at that time. Because the requirements for license reinstatement will vary depending on the nature of your offense, you will need to contact the Department of Motor Vehicles to find out what steps you will need to take to begin the process. If your license was suspended due to criminal charges, those charges must be resolved before the process to reinstate can begin. For periods of suspension of less than a year, you may be required to retake a vision, written and driving skills test. If your suspension period was longer than a year, a driving skills test will be a required part of reinstatement.
If you or someone you care about is facing charges of driving with a suspended or revoked license, we invite you to contact our offices today. These charges should be taken seriously and be handled by an attorney with experience and a thorough understanding of the details related to traffic law in Nevada.