Gun and Weapon Charges
A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.
– The Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution
Despite the right to bear arms being enshrined in the Second Amendment, Nevada and the federal government have passed a number of restrictions on firearm and weapon possession, and ownership. These laws carry serious consequences that could include jail time, fines and a criminal record.
Defense Attorney for Firearm Charges in Las Vegas
After you are arrested for a firearm or weapon offense, it is important to seek legal counsel immediately. Michael Pariente is an experienced attorney who devotes all of his time and energy into criminal defense in Las Vegas.
Pariente Law Firm, P.C. seeks to provide the best legal representation for clients in Clark County, Henderson, Paradise, Las Vegas, and the surrounding areas. If you are facing gun or weapon charges, call Michael Pariente today at (702) 966-5310.
Firearm and Weapons Information Center
- What is Classified as a Weapon in Nevada?
- Permit to Carry a Concealed Firearm
- Penalties for Weapon Crimes in Nevada
- Resources for Weapons Crimes in Nevada
- Provide the Best Defense Against Gun or Weapon Charges in Clark County
According to NRS 202.350, a concealed weapon is defined as any weapon being carried in a way that is not noticeable by the public in ordinary observation. If an individual is carrying an illegal weapon, or one he or she does not have a license to carry, the individual can be charged with a criminal offense. Weapons can include, but are not limited to:
- Explosive objects
- Brass knuckles
- Club, bat, or stick
- Certain knives or daggers
In most cases, individuals cannot receive a permit to carry concealed weapons that are not firearms. However, under certain circumstances, the sheriff’s department may issue such a permit after reviewing the individual’s request.
In order to legally carry a concealed firearm in Las Vegas, an individual must obtain a permit from the county sheriff’s office. If the individual is at least 21 years old, completes an approved firearms course, and is not prohibited by federal or state law from possessing a firearm, he or she is eligible to receive a permit. An individual can be ruled ineligible to receive a concealed carry weapon permit if he or she:
- Has been convicted of a felony;
- Has been convicted of a violent crime;
- Is currently on probation or parole;
- Has pending criminal charges against him or her;
- Falsifies information on the permit application;
- Currently has a warrant out for his or her arrest;
- Has a history of substance or alcohol abuse; or
- Has been convicted of a domestic violence offense.
It is important to note that an individual does not have need a permit in order to purchase a gun. However, after purchasing a gun in Las Vegas, or the surrounding areas of Clark County, the owner must register the gun with the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department.
Depending on your offense and past criminal history, if you’re charged with carrying an illegal weapon, failing to register a handgun, or carrying a concealed weapon without a permit, you can be charged with a misdemeanor or felony offense. In most cases, a first offense is considered a misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to six months behind bars, and/or up to a $1,000 fine.
In the event that an individual is charged with a felony offense, it will usually be classified as a category D or category C felony. A category D felony carries between one and four years in prison, and/or a fine of up to $5,000, while a category C felony is punishable by one to five years in prison, and/or up to a $10,000 fine.
Gun charges are a criminal accusation, and you have a right to be represented by a criminal defense attorney in all matters. Asserting your Second Amendment rights is a possible defense for some charges, though most state gun laws have been upheld in the past. Your lawyer will look at all the details of your case and develop a defense that works best for you.
Concealed Firearm Permit: This link provides information on how to obtain a concealed firearm permit in Las Vegas. It lays out the qualifications as well as fees associated with the permit.
LVMPD Gun Registration: The Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department is responsible for registering firearms owned by residents of the community. In order to register a firearm in Las Vegas, an individual can go to the police substation located at:Enterprise Area Command
6975 W. Windmill Lane
Las Vegas, NV 89113
Chapter 202 of the Nevada Revised Statutes: This chapter of the Nevada Revised Statutes addresses all issues and questions concerning weapons, firearms, and offenses involving them.
Michael Pariente is a criminal defense attorney in Las Vegas who is well versed in all rules and regulations regarding firearms. If you have been charged with a weapon related offense in Las Vegas, Paradise, Henderson, Boulder City, or the surrounding areas in Clark County, contact Pariente Law Firm, P.C..
As an accomplished defense attorney, Michael Pariente has the legal prowess necessary to help you develop the best defense strategy against your alleged offense. Contact him today, free of charge, at (702) 966-5310.
Some Weapon Charges We Defend: